Databases - CNS568 - Newton - Library at Shippensburg University

Research Databases for Mental Health Services

PsycINFO 1887-Current (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive index to the literature of psychology and related fields, including entries for journal articles, books, dissertations, and other research materials. It indexes some 4.5 million sources, 40% of which are available in electronic or print full-text in our library.
Access from on campus or off campus with Ship ID.
MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window
This database, produced by the National Library of Medicine, provides indexing for the world's comprehensive life sciences and biomedical literature. It includes abstracts for 33+ million articles in 5,600+ journals currently published worldwide and provides direct links to 14+ million full-text articles.
Access from on campus or off campus with Ship ID.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers scholarly publications in sociology, social work, criminal justice, and related fields. Contains >2.5 million articles and other materials (70% in full text) with deep coverage from 1960 and some back to 1882.
Access from on campus or off campus with Ship ID.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to some 700,000+ articles in academic journals and professional magazines in criminal justice and related fields. Full text is immediately available for almost 80% of the articles.
Access from on campus or off campus with Ship ID.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Extensive index to educational literature containing some 1.9 million items. About two thirds of the database are entries for articles (ERIC Journals) and another one third are mostly unpublished documents (ERIC Documents) which include research reports, curricular materials, and a variety of other educational research materials. It also includes citations to some 50,000 dissertations.
Access from on campus or off campus with Ship ID.

Google Scholar
This database, freely available from Google, is one of the most important scholarly databases, especially in the natural and social sciences. It brings the power of Google to the search for academic/scholarly publications, including journal articles, books, theses and dissertations, and other research documents. Google creates this database from "academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites" -- website. It has incredibly powerful citation searching features, which enable you to easily locate sources that cite a particular document (using the "Cited by" feature) and to find similar documents which often share related citations (using the "Related Articles" feature).

When using Google Scholar off campus, be sure to set your Scholar Preferences to use the Shippensburg University proxy to access library full-text through the "Full-Text@My Library" linking feature.

Education Source This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of the field of Education. Contains abstracts and full text of journal articles and other research materials.
Access from on campus or off campus with Ship ID.
PsycARTICLES (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text for 80+ peer-reviewed psychology journals published by the American Psychological Association and related groups. Most titles have full text from 1985 or the first journal issue; coverage of the remaining titles extends from the mid-1990s.
Access from on campus or off campus with Ship ID.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate is our largest single comprehensive database. It includes records for some 40 million items, with 25+ million immediately available in full-text. It covers all subject areas and includes newspapers and other news sources, general and specialized magazines, and scholarly journals. It is an excellent starting place for most undergraduate research.
Access from on campus or off campus with Ship ID.
Contents indexed in Ship Library Discovery Search.

CNS568 - Newton

Research Databases for Mental Health Services

Contact the Ezra Lehman Memorial Library