America: History & Life with Full Text is the definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1955 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. America: History & Life with Full Text also provides full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and much more. This authoritative database provides indexing of historical articles from more than 1,800 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. Contains over 800,000 records and access to the full text of more than 349 journals and more than 120 books.
JSTOR is our most comprehensive interdisciplinary archive of scholarly journal articles. For each journal included in JSTOR, it includes the full-run of the journal, from its beginning up until the most recent 3-5 years. Covers a wide variety of subjects such as history, literature, biology, business, and African-American studies.
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
Primary index to scholarly geographical literature. Covers earth sciences, ecology, human geography, geomechanics, and oceanography. Includes almost 2 million abstracts for scientific journal articles and other publications.
Academic Search Ultimate is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 10,021 full-text periodicals, including 9.017 peer-reviewed journals. This database offers indexing and abstracts and other publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Access from on campus or off campus with Ship ID.
Contents indexed in Ship Library Discovery Search.
This freely available database includes over 45,000 citations to published items on environmental history topics, over 30,000 historic photographs, U.S. Forest Service history materials, descriptions of nearly 8,000 archival collections from over 450 North American repositories, and much more.
This website includes recently published listings from the Environmental History Bibliography Database (which are also formally published in the journal Environmental History). This site allows you to easily browse new materials, as well as search/browse by important categories (i.e. Conservation Policy, Environmental Activism, or Landscape Change).
Environmental Action magazine covered all ecological issues. It particularly sought out non-mainstream and newly-emerging topics, and it served as a leading information and advocacy vehicle for the entire environmental movement. Publication of the non-profit environmental advocacy organization Environmental Action, which operated from 1970-1996.
Two environmental studies scholars (professor and doctoral student) have recently produced (2014) this very helpful work, which provides an annotated bibliography of some 150+ secondary materials (journal articles, historical magazines, books, and a few government documents) on PA conservation topics. Sections include: Air Pollution, Carson and Pesticides, Energy, Forestry, General Conservation, Parks and Wilderness, Three Mile Island, Urban Environment, Water and Fisheries, and Wildlife. It concludes with a section on "Core Environmental History Readings".