It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Almost all our library databases are setup so that you can order articles and book from ILLiad (Interlibrary Loan) directly from a search result. Request articles, books, and other content from libraries around the world. You can use this link to ILLiad to setup your account, modify your contact information or check on the status of your requests. Articles are delivered online, books are held at the Library Circulation Desk.
1. Set up an ILLIAD account to borrow books from other libraries. Log into ILLIAD with your Ship email and password. On your first use of ILLIAD you will need to supply your local mailing address, etc.
2. Keywords describing Exceptionalities - Identify possible exceptionalities by checking the list of "Mental Disorders" from the DSM.
[The terms "mental illness" or "mental disorders" find limited results. The term "exceptionality" is not generally used as a subject heading.] There are no search terms which easily identify biographies of children/adolescents.
3. Search Advanced WorldCat for your keyword - ie., Child? and Autism.
Then LIMIT your results to the following:
Audience - Not Juvenile (Books not written FOR children)
Content - Biography
Format - Book
Language - English
4. If the book you find is located in Ship Library write down the call number and go get it on the top floor of the library. For example, the following book is in our Library and has the call number:
RC553.A88 T36 2007
Tammet, D. (2007). Born on a blue day: Inside the extraordinary mind of an autistic savant : a memoir. New York: Free Press.
5. If the book you find is located in another library, Choose "Request via InterLibrary Loan." This will open an ILLIAD session. Fill out a New Request for a Book. The biography will be sent to our library within 5 business days. You will receive an email notifying you when it arrives.
6. As an alternative your book may be in one of Ship's eBook databases. Search them by title and author's last name.
7. As another alternative, check your local public library, Amazon, or Barnes and Noble.
A large book collection which is available to Shippensburg University students, faculty, & staff. You will need to log in with your S.U. username and password to access Ebook Central. This interface now also contains ebooks formerly accessible through the ebrary interface.
Available on campus or off-campus with your Ship ID
This growing subscription package contains a large selection of multidisciplinary e-books representing a broad range of academic subjects. The breadth of information available through this package ensures that students and scholars will have access to information relevant to their research needs. Offering more than 150,000 e-books, this collection includes titles from leading university presses such as Oxford University Press, MIT Press, State University of New York Press, Cambridge University Press, University of California Press, McGill-Queen's University Press, Harvard University Press and many others.
This subscription collection contains more than 5,700 e-books covering general engineering topics such as biotechnology, civil engineering, electrical engineering, energy sciences, industrial safety, material science, optics and photonics, project management, robotics and more.
This collection contains more than 33,000 multidisciplinary e-books from more than 90 of the best university presses in the world. Covering a variety of subjects such as technology, science, literature and humanities, the collection serves a full range of audiences, offering basic introductory texts to high-level research materials.
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
Search across an extensive collection of authoritative Oxford reference books and encyclopedias by keyword or subject.
Access from on or off campus with Ship ID.
If all of the above fails...
If you can't find what you are looking for in a library, use these links to search Amazon or Google for appropriate books. If you find something, either look its title up in WorldCat or buy the book from Amazon. Also check to see if your local public library might have the book.