Social & Cultural / Gender & Youth - INT200 - Skaff - Library at Shippensburg University

Social and Cultural Information

UNDP - Human Development Report - Country Profiles
Extensive statistical profile for each UN member nation, including details on poverty, health, inequality, education, income, sustainability, and more.
World Report (Human Rights Watch)
This excellent source provides country by country information on the status of human rights.

Country Reviews (CountryWatch)
Extensive current background information on most countries of the world. Each report includes a section on Etiquette, in which personal and business styles and values are discussed. Link starts a search in Business Source Complete - Simply type your country name in a blank search box.

Ship Discovery Search
You can search our most comprehensive source for business books related to your country. See the search steps below for doing this.

Access on-campus or off-campus with your ShipID

Click "Advanced Search"
Type your country name in the first search box and choose "Subject Terms" from the "Select a Field" drop-down menu
Paste the following search in the second search box:
business* or econom* or entrepreneur* or cultur* or etiquette or customs
This can be narrowed more by adding "business communication" to the third search box

ABI INFORM Collection
Use the following search to find relevant items:

MAINSUBJECT.EXACT("Business communications") OR MAINSUBJECT.EXACT("Business etiquette") OR MAINSUBJECT.EXACT("Intercultural communication") OR MAINSUBJECT.EXACT("Etiquette")

Gender Data Portal (World Bank)
The best starting point for country and regional statistics for the rights of women worldwide.
Women, Business, and the Law (World Bank)
Provides extensive information about legal aspects of women's participation in the workforce worldwide.
Gender Inequality Index (UNDP)
Provides country and regional statistics for the rights of women worldwide.

Women's Health - World Health Organization (WHO)
Topical pages on women's health from the leading international health organization. See particular the links in the "Women's health in WHO regions" section.

Gender Studies Database
This database features gender related scholarship in all subject area and it includes 3+ million resources, with 2/3 of these immediately available in full text. Most coverage extends from 1881-present. The last fifteen years have considerably less coverage than previous years. In this period, coverage includes only journal and magazine articles, with journal coverage at 25% of the previous 15 years.

UN Demographic Yearbook
This annual statistical yearbook provides worldwide population data from the 1930s to the present. Includes data on population, births, deaths, abortions, infant and maternal deaths, marriages and divorces.
Statistics of the Human Development Report
The Human Development Report of this United Nations agency provides comprehensive data on a wide range of data on human social well being and development, including such at topics as migration, human rights, literacy, life expectancy, poverty, gender issues, health trends, income disparity, and government expenditures on health and education.