Resources - UNIV101 - Bennett - Library at Shippensburg University

Catalog Search

Databases

Academic Search Ultimate
Academic Search Ultimate is our largest single comprehensive database. It includes records for some 40 million items, with 25+ million immediately available in full-text. It covers all subject areas and includes newspapers and other news sources, general and specialized magazines, and scholarly journals. It is an excellent starting place for most undergraduate research.

Access from on campus or off campus with Ship ID.
Contents indexed in Ship Library Discovery Search.
Academic Video Online
Academic Video Online (AVON) is our most comprehensive video collection. It includes 85,000+ documentaries, instructional videos, archival newsreels and news stories, and performances, interviews and lectures, and commercial motion pictures (Sony Pictures Classics). This database has large collections of videos in American and world history, business and economics, anthropology, classical music and the performing arts, politics and political science, counseling and therapy, environmental studies, the sciences, and many more fields.
Cambridge Histories Online
This database features the renowned texts of the Cambridge Histories series. It features comprehensive historical volumes (often in multi-volume sets) for time periods, country or regional histories, specific literatures, important events, many fields of study, movements, fields of thought and practice (i.e. music, philosophy, political science, religion, theater), and a vast array of histories for socio-cultural topics (i.e. the Holocaust, slavery, law, war, sexualities, food).
Chronicle of Higher Education
The Chronicle is the most comprehensive and important news source for matters concerning colleges and universities and higher education more broadly. It includes brief and in-depth news articles, along with an extensive listing of employment opportunities in higher education.
Gale E-Books (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Search across 1,000+ Gale reference books and encyclopedias by keyword or subject.

Access from on campus or off campus with Ship ID.
Oxford Reference Online: Premium
Search across an extensive collection of authoritative Oxford reference books and encyclopedias by keyword or subject.

Access from on or off campus with Ship ID.
zbMATH Open
Provides bibliographic data, reviews and abstracts from all areas of pure mathematics, applications in natural sciences, computer science, economics and engineering. It also covers history and philosophy of mathematics and mathematician biographies.

Book Loan Limits

Undergraduate students may borrow up to 50 items at a time.
Graduate students may borrow up to 100 items at a time.

Book Loan Lengths

Library Books are due back by the end of the semester.

Course Reserves

Course Reserves are limited to 1 item at a time.
Course Reserves have several loan periods.
- Three Hours (due 30 minutes before closing, if less than 3 hours left).
- One Day (due 30 minutes before closing the following day).
- Three Days (due 30 minutes before closing after the third day).
- Seven Days (due 30 minutes before closing after the seventh day).

A/V Media Loan Lengths & Limits

Lehman Library Audio and Video Media are due back on the 14th day after the borrowing date (limit 5 borrowed at a time)
Laptops can be borrowed by students only. They are due back the day they were borrowed, 30 minutes before the library closes

Books

Click My Library Card to access your account in the library catalog.
Login with your Ship email credentials
Click the Loans tab to view the items you have checked out
Click Renew next to the item(s) you want to renew
Check the item status on right, double-check for the new Due: date and look for Renewed in the right column
- If you want to renew a book that is due at the END OF THE TERM, you may need to contact the circulation office directly at 717-477-1461, or stop by the circulation desk for a supervisor to make this change since it will renew into the new term. During the last few days of the term, you should be able to renew the book online via My Library Card without a supervisor's assistance.

Course Reserves

Course Reserves are not available for renewal.

Technology/A/V Media

Laptops and A/V Media are not available for renewal.

UNIV101 - Bennett

First-Year Students FAQs

Printing Center

Ship Textbook Network

Catalog Search

Databases

Checkout and Renewal Policies

Book Loan Limits

Book Loan Lengths

Course Reserves

A/V Media Loan Lengths & Limits

Books

Course Reserves

Technology/A/V Media

Contact the Ezra Lehman Memorial Library