Background Sources

Scholarly encyclopedias and handbooks are an excellent resources that can help you get started in your research. They provide a compact yet comprehensive overview of topics, introduce key people, ideas, events, laws, policies, etc., and provide selective bibliographic resources, sometimes quite extensive.

Cambridge Histories Online
This unique historical reference compendium allows instant access to the renowned texts of the Cambridge Histories series. With access to the most up to date and authoritative scholarly content, Cambridge Histories Online is an invaluable resource, for undergraduates, graduates, lecturers and researchers alike.
Gale E-Books (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Search across 1,000+ Gale reference books and encyclopedias by keyword or subject.
Access from on campus or off campus with Ship ID.
Oxford Reference Online: Premium
Search across an extensive collection of authoritative Oxford reference books and encyclopedias by keyword or subject.

Access from on or off campus with Ship ID.
Sage Reference and Academic Books (Sage Knowledge)
An extensive collection of online reference sources and academic e-books from Sage, the leading social sciences publisher. It includes some 1000+ major reference sources as well as 5,000+ academic e-books. Major coverage is provided for Education, Sociology, Business & Management, Health and Human Services (including Social Work), Counseling, Psychology, and Political Science and International Relations, as well as less extensive coverage for other social science fields.

HIS203 - Ulrich

Background Sources

Contact the Ezra Lehman Memorial Library