Key Information Sources

Ship Topic Guides
In these 100+ topic guides created by the Ezra Lehman Memorial Library staff, you will find sources that introduce you to your topic and keep you up-to-date with links to news articles, research websites, journal articles, and research reports, with a focus on in-depth investigative journalism resources Journalist's Resource, ProPublica, Reveal: The Center for Investigative Reporting, and the Center for Public Integrity.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Library database that covers the most important and controversial issues of the day. Contains the full text of CQ Researcher, a weekly publication. Each issue provides a comprehensive overview and background essay, data tables and graphs, chronology, pro-con starter, and list of major research and advocacy groups. Includes extensive lists of sources and hot-linked footnotes throughout.
Access from on campus or off campus with Ship ID.

Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
This excellent three volume scholarly encyclopedia explores the topic of food worldwide and "documents the act of eating from the perspectives of cultural history, nutrition, ethnicity, religion, psychology, anthropology, geography, economics, and aesthetics."
Cambridge World History of Food
This comprehensive work on world food includes extensive historical essays on the development of food in all the world's regions, lengthy essays on the major food products, and a comprehensive dictionary of worldwide food.
Sage Encyclopedia of Food Issues
This is an extremely comprehensive encyclopedia covering a wide range of food issues. The array of coverage includes: agriculture and food industries, consumer practicies, nutrition and health, the environment, food regulation and government policies, trade, hunger and poverty, media portrayals, and marketing and advertising.

Key Databases

Ship Discovery Search This link opens in a new window
Use this search to find articles and books in a wide variety of databases to which Ship Library subscribes. Useful for when you are not finding many results in a more-targeted database.
Access on-campus or off-campus with your ShipID
ProQuest Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
One of the most comprehensive news databases in the world, ProQuest Global Newstream includes access to over 3000 news sources, including 2,200 newspapers, as well as blogs, podcasts, websites and news wire feeds worldwide.
Development note - alt link use stats: (91 total hits, 33 since 7/2012 -- 10 /2012)

LitCovid (National Library of Medicine)
LitCovid is a curated literature hub for tracking up-to-date scientific information about the 2019 novel Coronavirus. It is the most comprehensive resource on the subject, providing a central access to over 200,000 (and growing) relevant articles in PubMed and other research sources. The articles are updated daily and are further categorized by different research topics and geographic locations for improved access. -- adapted from website description. Statistics and search tips are available at: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/research/coronavirus/faq

Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Political Science Complete is an extensive full-text collection and index to political science literature. It includes online full-text for 500+ academic journals in political science and related fields. It also provides cover to cover indexing for a total of 1,000 political science journals and selective coverage for an additional 1,000 journals in related fields. It also includes a collection of some 340 reference and other political science e-books. In this way, Political Science Complete forms the perfect in-depth complement to the broader coverage found in our current PAIS database.
PAIS International This link opens in a new window
Indexes 2.5+ million items in political science, public policy, and international relations, which were produced from 1915 to the present. Contains journal articles, books, U.S. and foreign government documents, websites, research and think tank reports, and international agency publications. The great breadth of this database is perfectly complemented by the in-depth journal coverage of Political Science Complete.
Access from on campus or off campus with Ship ID.

Google Scholar
This database, freely available from Google, is one of the most important scholarly databases, especially in the natural and social sciences. It brings the power of Google to the search for academic/scholarly publications, including journal articles, books, theses and dissertations, and other research documents. Google creates this database from "academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites" -- website. It has incredibly powerful citation searching features, which enable you to easily locate sources that cite a particular document (using the "Cited by" feature) and to find similar documents which often share related citations (using the "Related Articles" feature).

When using Google Scholar off campus, be sure to set your Scholar Preferences to use the Shippensburg University proxy to access library full-text through the "Full-Text@My Library" linking feature.