Library: &nbsp;Women's Studies Research Guide: Books and Articles

Women's Studies Databases - Start Here

We do not have a database dedicated to Women's Studies, but since Women's Studies is interdisciplinary, you can find articles relevant to your research interests in many of our databases. For example, if you are interested in women in history, search the history databases. Scroll down to see all the possibilities.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Library database that covers the most important and controversial issues of the day. Contains the full text of CQ Researcher, a weekly publication. Each issue provides a comprehensive overview and background essay, data tables and graphs, chronology, pro-con starter, and list of major research and advocacy groups. Includes extensive lists of sources and hot-linked footnotes throughout.
Access from on campus or off campus with Ship ID.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to 1963 and contains over 3 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers.

Searching for Books on Women's Studies

There are several ways to find books on a particular topic on Women's Studies. Search for the key words or phrases plus, for example women, or gender, or gender differences, or sex differences, or sex role. The following links provide access to the Lehman Library catalog, WorldCat, and the Library of Congress, which you would use to find materials not available elsewhere that you could then request through interlibrary loan.

Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
The Library Catalog is our most comprehensive search tool for the physical items in the Shippensburg University library collections, including books, journals, videos, microfilms, government publications and more. It also includes many digital items that are in our permanent library collections. For a comprehensive listing of all journal titles, both print and online, use the Library Publications (Journal Titles A-Z) tool.
WorldCat Advanced Search This link opens in a new window
The world's largest book database, WorldCat serves as a shared library catalog for 25,000+ libraries worldwide. Contains links to books, periodical titles, videos, internet resources, and other cataloged resources in libraries. It also contains selected collections of periodical articles. Access from on campus or off campus, with no ID required.
WorldCat FirstSearch This link opens in a new window
The world's largest book database, WorldCat serves as a shared library catalog for 25,000+ libraries worldwide. Contains links to books, periodical titles, videos, internet resources, and other cataloged resources in libraries. It also contains selected collections of periodical articles. The FirstSearch version of WorldCat provides powerful advanced search options to better focus searches.
Access from on campus or off campus with Ship ID.

Library of Congress Online Catalog
Search the library holdings of one of the world's largest libraries. For access to the digital collections of the Library of Congress, use their Digital Collections website.
Sage Books
The ultimate social sciences digital library, contains 5,000+ ebooks.
Women's Studies Open Access Books
Title List from Oh! The Humanities (OTH) Women’s Studies Bookshelf

Women's Studies Research Guide

Women's Studies Databases - Start Here

Searching for Books on Women's Studies

Contact the Ezra Lehman Memorial Library