Library: Help Yourself: Background

Find Background Information

Often, a deeper understandig of a topic can measurably improve an assignment. Take some time to gather some background information and work your new knowledge into your assignment.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Library database that covers the most important and controversial issues of the day. Contains the full text of CQ Researcher, a weekly publication. Each issue provides a comprehensive overview and background essay, data tables and graphs, chronology, pro-con starter, and list of major research and advocacy groups. Includes extensive lists of sources and hot-linked footnotes throughout.
Access from on campus or off campus with Ship ID.
Gale E-Books (Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
Search across 1,000+ Gale reference books and encyclopedias by keyword or subject.
Access from on campus or off campus with Ship ID.
Sage Knowledge Ebooks This link opens in a new window
The ultimate social sciences digital library, contains 5,000+ ebooks.
Oxford Reference Online: Premium This link opens in a new window
Search across an extensive collection of authoritative Oxford reference books and encyclopedias by keyword or subject.

Access from on or off campus with Ship ID.
Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Covers items of general interest. Contains >25,000 encyclopedic entries.
Access from on campus or off campus with Ship ID

Help Yourself

Friendly Library Staff

Find Background Information

Contact the Ezra Lehman Memorial Library