Skip to main content

Reserves for Faculty

How to place eReserves and give your students access

Linking to Content

Licensed Content

Ezra Lehman Memorial Library subscribes to many electronic journals and full-text databases. These subscriptions come with licenses which allow users affiliated with Shippensburg University access to online content which falls within these subscriptions.

Licenses are based in contract law; these license terms may override Copyright restrictions. Often, these licenses grant more leeway in providing online access - though some licenses are more restrictive in certain circumstances.

EZproxy: Explained

EZproxy is software that the library uses to provide "authenticated" off-campus access to licensed library resources for Ship students, staff, and faculty. The EZproxy URL string directs users to a webpage where they must log in with their Ship credentials (Ship username/password, or library barcode number). The software confirms "OK, you're a Ship user - go ahead to the resource!" and then the user is passed through to the database or other subscription content.

Ship Library's EZproxy URL is
http://navigator-ship.passhe.edu/login?url=

You will see this proxy URL automatically inserted in persistent links to articles in EBSCO databases, e.g.
http://navigator-ship.passhe.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=48043289&site=ehost-live&scope=site

However some database vendors do not support the addition of this authentication for individual titles or other discrete content in the database.
On this page we provide instructions for how to add this EZproxy URL so that links to content will be accessible from off-campus as well as on-campus.

If you have questions or problems, feel free to
Ask Us Anything!

(If you're interested in learning more about EZproxy, see http://www.oclc.org/ezproxy/ )

Permanent Proxy Links

Permanent (also called stable, or persistent) links to articles, audio tracks, or video segments, etc. are available in most library databases. However the links are located and named differently by each database vendor.

1. Article links in EBSCO databases are the easiest.
Use the "Persistent link to this record (Permalink)" near the bottom of the article description page.

This persistent link, http://navigator-ship.passhe.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=48299785&site=ehost-live&scope=site, contains the EZproxy string (see information at left) for Ship users to access the resource off-campus as well as on-campus.  [Article: Holdcroft, D. (2009). South Africa's black and white minstrels. Eureka Street, 19(24), 42-44.]

2. Article links in JSTOR
Click on the "Item Information" link:

The "Stable URL" is part of the Bibliographic Info:

Unfortunately the JSTOR stable URL, http://www.jstor.org/stable/3172434, does not include the EZproxy link address for off-campus authentication. So the EZproxy URL must be prepended on the beginning of the URL which then becomes:
http://navigator-ship.passhe.edu/login?url=http://www.jstor.org/stable/3172434

See other boxes on this page for more tips on identifying stable links to resources.

Linking to Licensed Content

Linking to library electronic journal or database subscriptions from D2L is almost as easy as linking to a regular website, just follow the steps below:

  1. Decide you wish to link to an article
  2. Determine if the library can provide access 
    • Check the Journal Titles List for access to the cited journal
      Journal Title Search
    • If we have access to the journal,
      Check for coverage of the citation date
      Check Coverage Dates
    • If we have access to the cited date,
      Select a database (EBSCO databases are easiest to link, when available)
      Select a database
    • Browse the years, months/issues, or search within the journal, for your article
      Search or Browse
    • When you have located your article, Click the title
      Click th etitle
    • Scroll down to the Permalink field near the bottom of the record
      Copy Permalink 
  3. Copy the Persistent link to this record (Permalink)
  4. Paste the permalink into your D2L Course.

As always, especially if something goes awry, please email librarian@ship.edu and we will troubleshoot & resolve the problem.